St. Mark UMC is a vibrant faith community that has served the Hanover-Harmans community for 178 years, since 1842. We serve our local community by nurturing all people and families to build better communities locally and globally. We seek opportunities to build bridges of understanding, respect, and most importantly, love for others through a deep relationship with God.
It all began in a barn..........
In 1842, the pioneers of our early church obtained permission to hold worship meetings in the barn of Mr. & Mrs. Peter (Elizabeth) Gambrill. They worshiped in this barn until 1844 when Mr. & Mrs. Gambrill gave them land, located off Ridge Road in Hanover, MD, on which to build a church.
During the summer of 1967, the congregation moved to its current location on Dorsey Road. In September of 1967, construction began on the new edifice. The first service in what is the current home of St. Mark was held in the building on Sunday, October 13, 1968, following a walk from the old church. In addition, in 1968, due to a merger between the Methodist Church and the United Evangelical Brethren, St. Mark became St. Mark United Methodist Church.
Today, the Love that brought us through all the trials and tribulations of 178 years continues. The God we serve today is the same God of our ancestors and will be the God we continue to serve in the future. His Love is endless. #LoveMatters.